ALFA Universal UI (Plus Other UIs for DMs/Players!)

New models, textures, & integration of 3rd party content.

Moderators: ALFA Administrators, Staff - Technical

FoamBats4All
Githyanki

ALFA Universal UI (Plus Other UIs for DMs/Players!)

Post by FoamBats4All »

I'm not a UI developer. However, it doesn't take much to realize that NWN2, and ALFA in particular with its add-in content, has a cluttered player interface, and an even more cluttered DM interface.

So I've started working on what I'm calling the "ALFA Universal UI". The goals of this interface are as follows:
  • Provide a single interface to work with, removing and replacing both DMFI and PC Tools.
  • Take up a small amount of screen real estate.
  • The UIs should only capture mouse clicks when absolutely necessary. No more having an invisible section of your screen unusable (such as with DMFI's DM tools).
  • Provide a textual command for every component, so that users of the Stand Alone Client can still get things done. These commands will be documented.
  • Cover both player and DM tools in the same UI. Highlight DM tools in some way to make them stand out.
For design, I'm going with a bar to the left side of the screen. Icons will fill this vertical bar, standing for categories of actions. When an icon is clicked, it brings up a second bar, with smaller icons. This bar (also vertical) has the actual commands. This means that it is always at most 2 clicks to get to the tool you want. Clicking an already active category hides the second bar. Neither backdrops capture mouse events, so you can click through everything but the currently displayed buttons.

There is a lot to cram into this UI. I'm still working on categories and how to neatly organize/display everything. I'll post when I have a finalized list.